top of page

Goodwill Committees

The ACBL Goodwill Committee was organized in 1955.

At the Summer 2010 NABC in New Orleans, LA, the committee was renamed the Aileen Osofsky ACBL Goodwill Committee in her memory and in appreciation of her 25 years of service as chair of the committee. 

Each member of the ACBL Board of Directors is entitled to appoint two lifetime members from their district annually. Goodwill Day is celebrated on the Monday of each NABC. 

The individuals appointed to the Aileen Osofsky ACBL Goodwill Committee by District 22 Directors are shown in the National Appointees list.

Districts and units were encouraged to establish and recognize their own Goodwill Committees.

On September 1, 2010, the District 22 Board of Directors adopted a Goodwill Committee Charter. The eight Area Representatives were empowered to make appointments, annually, to the committee.


Appointees were to embody the attributes identified for the national committee nominees:

  • Greet and Welcome Opponents

  • Always Say, “Director, Please”

  • Lead or Place Dummy before You Write

  • Mentor a New Player

  • Say, “Thank You, Partner”

  • Compliment Opponent’s Play

  • Discuss Hands after the Game

  • Accept Defeat and Victory with Grace

  • Leave a Tidy Table

  • Smile Often!

Nominations for appointment to this prestigious committee are solicited every July by the district’s Goodwill Chairperson.

The individuals who have been appointed to the District 22 Goodwill Committee are shown in the D22 Appointees list.

The District 22 Goodwill Committee operates in accordance with its Goodwill Charter.

bottom of page